Traviva’s pick for Singapore is Ubigi: 10GB for 30 days at US$13, the cheapest verified plan, with tethering allowed. It puts you on Simba as well as StarHub, so if you would rather be on Singtel or StarHub, Nomad charges US$14 (a sale price, normally US$16). It suits most short stays and transit stops with an unlocked, eSIM-capable 4G phone — Singapore’s networks have retired 3G.
Updated · Prices in US dollars unless marked A$; figures marked “checked October 2026” were read off each provider’s own site on 8 October 2026.
Singapore eSIMs at a glance
The 10GB, 30-day plan from each provider, or its unlimited plan where it sells no fixed data. Hotspot rules come from each provider’s own terms.
| Provider | Plan / data | Validity | Price | Hotspot | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ubigi | 10GB | 30 days | US$13 | Yes | Simba and StarHub. Unlimited: US$49 for 30 days (60GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps). Price checked October 2026. |
| Nomad | 10GB | 30 days | US$14 (sale; normally US$16) | Yes | StarHub and Singtel. Price checked October 2026. |
| Saily | 10GB | 30 days | US$15.99 | Yes | Network not disclosed. Price checked October 2026. |
| Airalo | 10GB | 30 days | US$16 | Yes | Singtel, plus one unnamed partner. Price checked October 2026. |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 30 days | US$76.50 | 1GB a day | Singtel. No fixed-data plans. Price checked October 2026. |
| Maya Mobile | Unlimited | 30 days | US$49.99 | Allowed, with guidance | StarHub. 3GB a day, then 10 Mbps, then 1 Mbps. Price checked October 2026. |
| Simify | 10GB | 30 days | A$49 | Allowed | Billed in Australian dollars. Price checked October 2026. |
Singapore checks your passport for a local SIM — and caps you at three
Of all our destinations Singapore has the strictest published rules for buying a local SIM, and the clearest reason not to bother with one.
Singtel’s own prepaid FAQ lists what each type of buyer must present, and for foreign visitors it is a passport — the original document, in person, at the point of sale. The same page states a regulatory limit of three prepaid SIM cards per person, which it attributes to the regulator rather than to its own policy.
We looked for how any of this treats someone roaming in on a foreign-issued eSIM and found nothing published either way. The registration rules as written describe selling a Singapore SIM to someone standing in a shop. That is a reading of their scope, not a stated exemption — unlike Indonesia, where the carve-out is written into the regulation.
The thing most likely to actually stop you working is your handset. Singapore’s regulator announced in 2024 that all three networks would retire 3G: “M1 will proceed to retire its 3G network beginning 1 August 2024”, with Singtel and StarHub commencing from November 2024. An older phone without solid 4G band support has progressively less to fall back on, and no eSIM changes that.
We could not reach the regulator’s quality-of-service pages to confirm what performance standards it publishes for mobile operators, so this page makes no claim about network speeds in Singapore — ours or anyone else’s.
Sources for this section
What a 10GB month costs in Singapore
Same plan, same duration, four sellers. Prices in US dollars, checked 8 October 2026.
Holafly sells no fixed-data plans anywhere — its 30-day unlimited plan is $76.50, which is a different product and so is not plotted on the same scale.
Ubigi
Ubigi is cheapest at $13 for a 10GB month, but it routes you onto Simba as well as StarHub — worth knowing before you save a dollar. Nomad at $14 (on sale, normally $16) on StarHub and Singtel is the safer pick for a short transit stop.
See Ubigi Singapore plans →Every verified plan
Prices in US dollars, read off each provider’s own page. Where we could not confirm a price, we say so rather than estimate.
| Provider | Fixed data plans | Unlimited |
|---|---|---|
| Saily | 1GB/7d $3.99 · 3GB/30d $6.99 · 5GB/30d $9.99 · 10GB/30d $15.99 · 20GB/30d $22.99 | Not verified in October 2026 |
| Airalo | 1GB/3d $4 · 3GB/3d $6.50 · 3GB/7d $7 · 5GB/7d $9 · 10GB/7d $15 · 5GB/15d $9.50 · 10GB/15d $15.50 · 20GB/15d $22 · 5GB/30d $10 · 10GB/30d $16 · 20GB/30d $23 · 50GB/30d $48 | 3d $11.50 · 5d $18.50 · 7d $27 · 10d $34.50 · 15d $48 · 30d $69 |
| Nomad | 1GB/7d $4 · 3GB/30d $6.50 · 5GB/30d $9 · 10GB/30d $14 · 20GB/30d $21 · 50GB/30d $31 The 10GB and 20GB prices were sale prices (normally $16 and $25). | 5d $18 · 10d $27 |
| Ubigi | 1GB/7d $3 · 3GB/15d $6 · 10GB/7d $11 · 10GB/30d $13 · 25GB/30d $22 Ubigi also sells recurring plans in Singapore: 20GB at $16/month, and 5GB a month for 12 months at $33. | 2d $9 · 7d $19 · 15d $35 · 30d $49 The 30-day plan runs at full speed for the first 60GB, then 2 Mbps. |
| Holafly | No fixed-data plans — unlimited only | 3d $11.90 · 5d $20.50 · 7d $27.50 · 10d $37.50 · 15d $51.50 · 30d $76.50 |
| Maya Mobile | No fixed-data plans — unlimited only Maya sells no fixed-data plans anywhere; its product is one global unlimited plan. | 3d $9.99 · 7d $19.99 · 14d $27.99 · 30d $49.99 The same four prices apply in every country Maya covers. |
| Simify | 5GB/7d A$29 · 10GB/30d A$49 · 20GB/30d A$75 · 30GB/30d A$99 · 45GB/45d A$135 · 60GB/60d A$159 · 100GB/90d A$219 | Not verified in October 2026 |
Provider names link to their own site. Some of those links earn us a commission — the disclosure page says exactly which, and it plays no part in which plan we call cheapest.
Every price on this page is in US dollars except Simify’s, which are in Australian dollars because it bills in A$. An Australian card adds a foreign transaction fee of around 3% to the rest, which none of them mention at checkout — what that actually costs you →
Before you choose on price
Every unlimited plan sold in Singapore slows down at some point, so none of them is truly unlimited. Airalo gives you 3GB a day before dropping to 1 Mbps; Nomad gives you 2GB a day before dropping to 512 kbps; Ubigi sets no daily cap, but its 30-day plan runs at full speed for 60GB, then 2 Mbps; Holafly publishes no figure at all, though third-party analysis puts it near 2–3GB a day; Maya Mobile gives you 3GB a day before dropping to 10 Mbps, then 1 Mbps; Simify, where it sells unlimited, publishes no firm figure at all — only an approximate 1–1.5GB, and only in a troubleshooting article rather than on any plan page.
The cap matters less than what happens after it, and it decides whether a cheaper fixed-data plan would serve you better. Every provider’s daily cap and throttled speed, in one table →
Which network you actually roam onto
An eSIM is a roaming agreement with a local carrier. In Singapore, that means:
| Provider | Local network |
|---|---|
| Airalo | Singtel, plus one unnamed partner |
| Nomad | StarHub and Singtel |
| Ubigi | Simba and StarHub |
| Holafly | Singtel |
| Saily | Not disclosed |
| Maya Mobile | StarHub |
| Simify | Not disclosed |
When Australians go to Singapore
Singapore did not appear in the ABS monthly top ten in any month we checked, so no reliable figure exists for how many Australians go there. The series also counts only a trip's main destination, which structurally undercounts Singapore — enormous numbers of Australians pass through on the way somewhere else, and they need a SIM just the same.
Singapore eSIM questions travellers ask
What is the best eSIM for Singapore?
Traviva’s pick is Ubigi: 10GB for 30 days at US$13 in October 2026, the cheapest verified plan. If you would rather be on Singtel or StarHub than Simba, Nomad charges US$14 (a sale price, normally US$16).
How much does a Singapore eSIM cost?
A 10GB, 30-day plan cost US$13 from Ubigi, US$14 from Nomad (on sale), US$15.99 from Saily and US$16 from Airalo in October 2026. Simify charges A$49, and Holafly sells only unlimited plans, at US$76.50 for 30 days.
Do I need my passport for a Singapore SIM?
For a local prepaid SIM, yes: Singtel’s prepaid FAQ says foreign visitors must present their original passport in person, and states a regulatory limit of three prepaid SIM cards per person. We found nothing published either way on how this treats travellers roaming on a foreign eSIM.
Will my phone work in Singapore?
Only if it is unlocked, supports eSIM and has solid 4G support. Singapore’s regulator announced in 2024 that all three networks would retire 3G, so an older phone has progressively less to fall back on.
Can I use a Singapore eSIM as a hotspot?
Yes with Ubigi, Nomad, Saily and Airalo, which allow tethering. Holafly limits hotspot sharing to 1GB a day. Tethering uses the same data allowance as your phone.
Which Singapore network will my eSIM use?
Ubigi uses Simba and StarHub, Nomad uses StarHub and Singtel, Airalo uses Singtel plus one unnamed partner, Holafly uses Singtel and Maya Mobile uses StarHub. Saily and Simify do not disclose their network.
Related
- Ubigi is cheapest in Singapore, but Airalo is the name most people search for — what you get for the premium →
- Airalo and Holafly both sell Singapore plans and are the two most-searched eSIM brands, but they work in completely different ways — we put them side by side →
- Planning to tether a laptop in Singapore? Every provider’s hotspot rules, which are not the same as its data rules →